In a long, hard fought battle, those who support the legalization of recreational marijuana in Michigan have scored a major victory. During the mid-term elections, the people of the state spoke out in support of legal weed by casting their votes.
The proposal that was on the ballot passed on election day, but what are the details and when can you go out and buy some?
When Does The New Michigan Marijuana Law Take Effect?
While the proposal has already passed, those who wish to buy weed will have to wait until December 6th. This is when the new law will take effect, but those in the now booming marijuana industry are already getting prepared.
While everyone waits for December, local governments are warning people that if you get caught with weed before the law comes into effect, you may be fined. On the other hand, some local governments are already quietly dismissing low-level marijuana cases.
How Old Do You Have To Be?
Once the law has come into effect, people who are at least 21 years of age can buy marijuana products. This might disappoint the younger crowd who wish to purchase legally, and some have argued that the age limit should be 18.
Nevertheless, if you are under 21, you will have to wait a few more years before you can legally buy it. The new marijuana law is going to be strictly enforced, and weed shops are going to have to check the ID of each person that comes into their establishments.
Where Can You Buy It?
If you are of legal age, and you want to buy some marijuana, you will have a limited amount of options in the beginning. Since the state is not fully prepared to issue licenses to weed shops, you will have to grow your own or be gifted the bud.
Legal residents in the state of Michigan, who are 21 and over, can grow up to 12 plants in their home. The state estimates that they will start issuing licenses some time at the end of 2019 for commercial growers.
Is There A Limit On How Much You Can Buy?
Once you are allowed to buy pot from a dispensary, there will be a limit to how much you can purchase. Buyers are limited to 2.5 ounces of weed, but they can possess up to 10 ounces at home.
While this may bum some of you out, this section of the law will help keep illegal marijuana operations from coming into the state.
Where Can You Use It?
This is another good question that should be answered. While some states allow pot to be used in a public place, Michigan will slap you with a heavy fine if you get caught lighting up in public.
Instead, users are encouraged to partake in the privacy of their own homes. Local businesses in the state will remain smoke-free.
Did They Legalize CBD Oil?
You might be wondering if this new law makes it legal to purchase and possess CBD oil in the state of Michigan. The truth is, CBD oil has been legal in the state for several years.
In 2015, the state passed a law clarifying the difference between CBD oil, which contains only non-detectable amounts of THC, and Marijuana that has up to 28% THC. So, you can rest easy knowing that CBD oil is completely legal to buy and use.
If you’re looking for the best cbd oil for sale, check out this online selection.
Now that you know more about this exciting new recreational marijuana law, you don’t have long to wait until you can indulge. Just remember that you need to be at least 21 years old, and you are limited in how much you can possess.
Original Source: https://discountpharms.com
† FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION (FDA) DISCLOSURE
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
This website contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.